Wheat-Free

Wheat is everywhere – in bread, pancakes, biscuits, cakes, pastry, pasta, breakfast cereals and snack bars. Also often a hidden ingredient in many kinds of rye bread, rye crispbreads, many ready meals, sausages, taramasalata, and breaded chicken and fish.

Wheat-free alternatives:

  • Oats – as flakes for porridge, muesli or making flapjacks and as oatcakes for snacks
  • Rye – available as 100% rye bread and pumpernickel (caution, not all rye bread is wheat free). Rye crackers are also available in various different forms.
  • Barley – cook the same way as rice or add flakes to muesli mix.
  • Spelt – strictly speaking a wheat grain, but this ancient form of wheat can often be tolerated by those with a wheat problem. Available as flour, crackers and pasta. Spelt makes wonderful light bread.
  • Sprouted wheat – when sprouted, wheat loses a lot of its allergenic potential. Delicious in salads.

Label reading – the following indicate a wheat content:

  • Flour
  • Cereal binder, filler, starch or protein
  • Edible starch
  • Modified starch
  • Bulgar wheat
  • Cous cous

Gluten-free = wheat-free so gluten-free alternatives are also suitable.

To start with you may find your diet restrictive and you will inevitably crave foods such as bread and pasta. Remember that an intolerance can be likened to an addiction – the foods we crave are often the ones doing us most harm. After a week or so these cravings should subside, you should start to feel much healthier and become more used to the delicious alternatives available.